Risking a Few Words

Some of our experiences since getting out of the pilot seat have involved rather simple steps of faith that didn’t require much risk on our part; however, they may have required some effort (as in a return trip to the Abilene area that we had just left). One of the steps of faith that was more difficult for us to do was to speak to someone in a specific way. We were very timid about that. There was risk involved. We had doubts, such as, What if we weren’t sensing God right? What if we unknowingly or unintentionally added elements that were not supposed to be there? What if we frightened the person, and he/she thought we were nuts?

Here is a story to illustrate this point. It occurred while we were traveling in another state.

We saw a sign for an antique trade days. As we stated before, this type of venue is just our cup of tea. As we walked around the event, a couple of items caught our attention, and they all seemed to be at one dealer’s table. He had stacks and stacks of vintage Coleman stoves, lanterns, and camping gear. Not the kind of stuff you are going to find at Wal-Mart. As we talked to the dealer, we inquired about where he had obtained such a treasure trove. He stated that he had bought out an estate in Montana. What he had at this show were what he called the lesser valued “left overs.” From him, we purchased a tent, a lantern, a stove and a heater. All were in pristine condition despite being seventy or so years old. After exchanging the money for the product, we visited with the dealer a little longer, just shooting the breeze about various things. As we hauled our newly acquired items to the car, my wife said, “I feel like I’m supposed to go tell him something, but I don’t really want to do it.”

I said, “What is it?” She said, “I feel like I am supposed to tell him that God loves him and wants him back. But that’s kind of weird, isn’t it? I should probably just forget about that.” I said, “Yeah, that is kind of weird.” We finished loading our stuff and left. The remainder of that evening, my wife could not get that thought out of her head. It continued into the night and into the next morning. We decided that there must be something to this. We decided to drive toward where the trade days was to see if the dealer was still there. If he wasn’t, we were off the hook.

But, he was there. Now what? We walked back up to his booth. He greeted us with a smile, “So, you’re back again!” We replied, “Yeah,” and meandered around looking at some of his other items for sale. There was nobody around his booth at this time because it was still pretty early in the day. My wife gets up her nerve and says to the man, “I hope you won’t find this strange, but I think I am supposed to tell you that God loves you and wants you back. Does that strike a cord at all?” The man looked as if she had punched him. His reply was immediate. “I know God sent you to me. He has been telling me the same thing.” He began to roll up the sleeve on his left arm. Tattooed on his arm was the image of a boy. He said, “This is my son. I killed him in a motorcycle accident. He was only thirteen.” The man began to weep, and he reached out to us in an embrace. We walked him to a chair. He told us that the horrible incident that had ruined his life had occurred nearly seven years back, and he was still angry at God. He said, “How could he take my only son?” Some of his questions we did not have answers for. I asked him, “What about the God wanting you back part?” He answered that he had once been close with God but had walked away. My wife responded, “So you already know Him then.” The man nodded and said, “Yes. I do. Oh, do I.” He again stated that her words confirmed what God was saying to him—that he loved him and wanted him back. We did a group hug thing in the middle of a trade days, and prayed with him. We did not exchange numbers or contact info with this man. But, both he and we knew that God had orchestrated our intersection.

Leave a Reply

